The Biggest Tourist Traps in Paris

Ah, the city of love. So many people dream of going here, thinking it’ll be the most romantic trip. I did, until I went…and found it a bit overrated to be honest. But maybe I could give it another chance, this time avoiding the tourist traps.

Here are some touristy traps you could probably do without:

  • The Eiffel Tower

I’m glad I just saw this from afar and didn’t deal with standing in line, going through security, pay a fortune, and go through scams. No, it’s better to just look at it from the ground. For the view of Paris, I’ve read that Montparnasse Tower is a much better option.

  • The Mona Lisa

Now don’t get me wrong. The Lourve is lovely and I highly reccomend it. But to go just for the one painting, which is incredibly small, crowded by people, and honestly not that good…it’s so much better to get in the other paintings in the museum!

  • A Cruise on the Seine

Now I didn’t do this but I’ve read is the biggest tourist trap. It’s pricey and you really don’t see anything of view.

  • Shopping on the Champs-Élysées

Obviously this would be very expensive, and not that special when it’s all big name stores like H&M. You’d be better off trying to look for local shops!

  • Street Vendors and Peddlers

These are usually scams, and if not a scam, at least expensive. I get wanting souviners, but you can probably wait until your last day to grab a magnet. Don’t go buying selfie sticks by the Eifel tower. Just don’t do it.

Published by myadventure2017

Writer, Reader, Bookstagrammer, Booktoker, Blogger

Leave a comment