Travel Items You Don’t Actually Need

Traveling can already be super expensive, even on a budget! There’s always a price to pay for what you love. But, don’t waste more money on travel items you don’t actually need. Instead, save up for the next trip!

  • Travel Sized Soap and Shampoo. Trust me, getting through the TSA regulations of the minuscule amount of liquid you’re allowed to take is such a hassle. You might end up spending money on all these travel bottles that won’t even last you for the whole trip. Instead, look for good accommodation that provides complimentary soap and shampoo. I believe most hotels and airbnb’s do this!
  • Guidebooks/Travel Book. You really don’t need to pay $25+ for a book on potential places to check out. Maybe once they were helpful, but we live in a world of infinite technology. Cool places to check out are just a Google search away. Maybe you can even stumble upon the perfect place by accident!
  • A padlock for your suitcase. I know it’s a well-intention to keep thieves out but my suitcases, at least, are made of cloth, which I’m sure is easy to tear into anyway. Besides, there is plenty of security at the airport and I’ve never had a problem. *knocks on wood*
  • A fancy camera. Unless you’re a photographer as a career or a major hobby like my boyfriend is, you don’t really need it to take good photos. I use my iPhone which might be sacrilege but I’m happy with most of the photos that turn out.
  • Packing cubes. Some people swear by them but I think if you just pack smart, you don’t need them. Rolling clothes saves a lot of room.
  • Travel iron. You don’t even need an iron really. If you’re that concerned about wrinkles, you can always hang your clothes in the bathroom and run the shower. I have heard this works. Also, most hotels have iron boards and irons in the room!

My advice is skip these items. Save some money for the next trip and some room in your bags for souvenirs!

Published by myadventure2017

Writer, Reader, Bookstagrammer, Booktoker, Blogger

Leave a comment